The British currency is the pound sterling. The sign for the pound is pound sign.

GBP = Great British Pound pound sign. The pound is divided into 100 pence.

The pound (pound sign) is made up of 100 pence (p).


The singular of pence is "penny". The symbol for the penny is "p". 50p is often pronounced "fifty pee" rather than "fifty pence".

There are both coins and banknotes:



Current coins are:

1 penny, 2 pence, 5 pence, 10 pence, 20 pence, 50 pence, 1 pound, and 2 pounds.

Current bank notes are:

The 5 pound note, the 10 pound note, the 20 pound note and the 50 pound note.